The return of Madame Blavatsky

About 10 years ago, I got a CD full of books from a friend. He was the one who has introduced me to satanism, and some philosophy as well. Many books could be found in that collection, many of them have been left unappreciated by me. The same happened with the works of H.P. Blavatsky, the mother of Theosophy. I simply found those somewhat difficult to understand and impractical, useless.

Years have passed, and I got familiar with a couple of philosophical schools of thought, and some religions as well. A deep, latent need developed in me, to search for something more complete. An ideology that unifies common sense with philosophy. The one that looks religion through the looking glass of science.

I have tried to re-invent something many times until I learned to look for that something if someone else has already invented it. That’s how I found theosophy, a system that contains most principles I was looking for lately. A system that I could have get in touch with 10 years ago. Well, better late than never.

However, I’m new to the subject and I need to get to know it before forming more specific thoughts. After the brief introduction of the site http://blavatskytheosophy.com/, I take its advice and follow my studies with the following books:

  • The Ocean of Theosophy by William Quan Judge
  • Answers to Questions on The Ocean of Theosophy by Robert Crosbie
  • The Key to Theosophy by H.P. Blavatsky
  • Studies in “The Secret Doctrine” by B.P. Wadia
  • HPB: The Extraordinary Life and Influence of Helena Blavatsky by Sylvia Cranston

So, in later posts I probably will write some ideas and remarks about theosophy. Its beauty lies in the fact that it lets us to decide what to accept, and examine each thought for usefulness and validity. And lastly, from what I already know, it seems refreshing and thoughtful.

Leave a Reply

